I write this blog in order to track my composing habits and methods, self-reflection and all that goodness and this is a semi-important moment of reflection.

It’s been two months since my last post, which means it’s been two months since I last wrote anything. There are a few reasons why, but I don’t know if they’re any good. I’m going to indulge myself and if you’re not me and happen to be reading this, I’m asking you to indulge me too.

Reasons why I haven’t composed in two months:

  • Wanted some downtime after finishing the djembe book which was a big project
  • Uptick in work hours, downtick in usable free time
  • Refocusing on practicing percussion
  • Intimidated by my next big project, the percussion ballet

So, how will I get back to it?

  • Week-long break from teaching coming up gives me a chance to work on some things
  • Scheduled practice time, so my free time can be put towards composition
  • Tackling a few smaller projects before the ballet

Upcoming Compositions

I have a few small endeavors that I’ve wanted to work on for awhile.

  • a suite for pierrot ensemble
  • a single-movement piece for chorus, percussion, and organ based on the Silmarillion
  • a sonata for clarinet and jazz trio

I’m not overly concerned with the quality or longevity of these pieces, to be completely honest. I just want to compose to completion, and enjoy the process. I can always come back to them and redraft or edit. We’ll see how they turn out.

~ Z

